THE CABIN IN THE WOODS Movie Review by She Geek


As a long-time horror movie watcher, I couldn’t help but love The Cabin in the Woods.

But before I go any further, it’s important for you to know that I am not putting spoilers in this review, and I’ll be limiting the details I share so that you can feel safe to read on. And if you haven’t already done so, I’d avoid watching the film’s trailer and/or reading up on the flick. I believe that going in partially blind to this one has a better pay-off. (And hey, why do you need to read up on the movie elsewhere anyways when She Geek has your back?!) Now with that being said . . .

First off, as a big Joss Whedon fan, it was no brainer that I would need to check out this film. I’ve always been a fan of his character development and witty banter. And I looked forward to seeing how he took the milder horror genre depicted in his earlier television works of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and “Angel” and turned it up for a frightfully fun motion picture. I’m happy to report that he didn’t let me down.

Those familiar with Whedonverse will find several familiar faces such as Fran Kranz (“Dollhouse”) Amy Acker (“Angel,” “Dollhouse”), and a shorn god of thunder Chris Hemsworth (Marvel’s “The Avengers”) as the director is apt to do. But if you’re a fellow horror movie aficionado you might also find a few “cameos” you wouldn’t expect.

 

Overall, The Cabin in the Woods is a nod to past horror movies with a refreshingly unique take. It starts like many others have, friends vacationing in a cabin out in the woods only to get more adventure than they were originally bargaining for. The film takes you through some wooded shriek-filled romps as innocents are pursued by an adversary. And we witness the would-be victims discover hiding places and seek out ways to escape unscathed. But in the end, you will be surprised at who lives and who dies.

Keep in mind that if you’re looking for something in the vein of Hostel you’ll want to take a pass on this film. But if you’re open to going outside of the torture gore genre (that I personally think is too prevalent today), you’ll finish this film having had a great time.

I don’t recall every feeling overly frightened, but rather drawn into the suspense of guessing what will happen next, and of course, the occasional suspense/jump moments (or at least the hint that one is on the horizon). Many of the scenes are purposefully over the top, which at times reminded me of Sam Raimi’s Evil Dead. In fact, the use of blood in the film bypasses the gore galore factor and instead unfolds into numerous wow moments. The twists and turns in the film offer a roller coaster ride that keeps you wondering what can be thrown at you next.

If I were to summarize The Cabin in the Woods in one word it would be “Fun”.   This movie was thoroughly entertaining. It’s one of those films that will have you talking with your fellow viewers after the last scene has played, as you reflect on the mirage of images you’ve just witnessed.

The Cabin in the Woods is a must watch. So turn off the lights, pop in the DVD, and get ready to have a great time.

4 thoughts on “THE CABIN IN THE WOODS Movie Review by She Geek

  1. This movie was really fun, but it was also very deep (especially for a horror flick). I thank the powers above that something so fresh and original came out of the horror genre that was starting to turn me away with its cookie-cutter gore flicks. I skipped this movie in theaters because it looked so average, but decided to check it out after a coworker at Dish assured me that it was anything but. I put it on my Blockbuster @Home queue, and it came in the mail yesterday. I was so surprised by what I got, and it instantly shot to the top of my best of 2012 list. The writing is genius, the performances are great, and the cinematography is beautiful. I love renting what I think is a B movie and having it turn out to be something great. I think that that is even the feeling that they were trying to give with this movie, so if you haven’t seen it go out and get it now!

  2. Pingback: She Geek’s Movie Countdown to Halloween: Night 2 – The Cabin in the Woods | He Geek She Geek

Leave a comment