Five Favorite LucasArts Games


lucasarts

LucasArts is shutting its doors, and while they haven’t put out much lately that wasn’t Star Wars related (or very good, for that matter, KOTOR not withstanding), the LucasArts name on a software box used to mean a must-have game for He Geek without ever having to read a review.

Here are my five favorite LucasArts games that sent me on some of the greatest adventures in the 90s and 2000s.

1. X-Wing

X-Wing put you in the pilot seat of the greatest snub-nosed fighter in the galaxy. Some of the missions were really easy, others ungodly difficult, but they all made you feel like you were doing your part to free the galaxy from the evil Empire, even with blocky graphics and repetitive chiptune theme song.  I never had the opportunity to play Tie Fighter, the follow-up to X-Wing, and many people say TF is superior, but X-Wing satisfied me anyway.

2. The Secret of Monkey Island

In this comedy-adventure, a young Caribbean man with dreams of hitting the high seas, falls in love with the Governor’s daughter, but gets tangled up with a variety of rogues, most notably an evil ghost pirate. Sound like a Johnny Depp movie? It should. Pirates of the Caribbean was adapted from a script originally meant for a movie based on The Secret of Monkey Island, which explains why the movie was so good. The Monkey Island series was the hilarious story of Guybrush Threepwood and his quest to become a pirate. It was so good that it was recently re-released as a remastered special edition on Steam and console downloads. If you’ve never played Monkey Island before, stop reading this, go buy it, then come back and finish the rest of the article. We’ll wait…

3. Zombies Ate My Neighbors

I’ll admit, I was never able to finish ZAMN. I got very far and lost a lot of lives and my game got saved at a point where I only had precious little life and my character was in a very precarious place I could never survive. But ZAMN was my favorite game on my favorite gaming system (SNES). My ex and I would spend hours killing zombies before it was even cool. The weapons and monsters were awesome (the creepy laughing bop-it clown you’d inflate to distract the axe-wielding dolls made me laugh every time. “Here! All kids love clowns!” I’d yell at the screen.) Plus the chapter with deadly plants named “Where the Red Fern Growls” gives the giggles to this day.

4. Grim Fandango

Adventure games hit perfection with Grim Fandango. With an art style based on the Mexican Dias de los Muertos, Grim put you in the shoes of Manny Calavera, a travel agent for the dead whose job it was to get new souls safely to the afterlife. It was an amazing film noir-esque story that would have been right at home on the big screen starring Humphry Bogart back in the day (if Bogey were a skeleton. I guess today he…nevemind).

5. Star Wars: Masters of Teräs Käsi

Ok, just kidding. This one really sucked. Hey, they can’t all be winners.

There are so many great games that game from the minds of the creators at LucasArts that we couldn’t possibly list all of our favorites in one post. But what about you geeks? Which LucasArts games do you have fond memories of? Sound off in the comments!

One thought on “Five Favorite LucasArts Games

Leave a Reply

