39th Annual Saturn Award Winners Announced

SATURN-AWARD_2The 39th annual Saturn Awards, which celebrates excellence in Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Horror, was held last night, and this years winners were certainly all over the board. Joss Whedon can be proud of two of his movies (The Avengers, The Cabin in the Woods) taking home major trophies.  Even Breaking Bad broke into the act with three awards of its own.

Below is the full list of winners:


Best Science Fiction FilmMarvel’s The Avengers

Best Fantasy FilmLife of Pi

Best Horror/Thriller FilmThe Cabin in the Woods

Best Action/Adventure FilmSkyfall

Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey (Killer Joe)

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games)

Best Supporting Actor: Clark Gregg (Marvel’s The Avengers)

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway (The Dark Knight Rises)

Best Performance by a Younger Actor: Suraj Sharma (Life of Pi)

Best Director: Joss Whedon (Marvel’s The Avengers)

Best Writing: Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained)

Best Production Design: Dan Hennah (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey)

Best Editing: Alexander Berner (Cloud Atlas)

Best Music: Danny Elfman (Frankenweenie)

Best Costume: Paco Delgado (Les Miserables)

Best Make-Up: Heike Merker, Daniel Parker, Jeremy Woodhead (Cloud Atlas)

Best Special Effects: Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams, Dan Sudick (Marvel’s The Avengers)

Best Independent Film Release: Killer Joe

Best International FilmHeadhunters

Best Animated FilmFrankenweenie


Best Network Television SeriesRevolution

Best Syndicated/Cable Television SeriesThe Walking Dead

Best Presentation on TelevisionBreaking Bad

Best Youth-Oriented Series on TelevisionTeen Wolf

Best Actor on Television: Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad), Kevin Bacon (The Following) – tie

Best Actress on Television: Anna Torv (Fringe)

Best Supporting Actor on Television: Jonathan Banks (Breaking Bad)

Best Supporting Actress on Television: Laurie Holden (The Walking Dead)

Best Guest Star on Television: Yvonne Strahovski (Dexter)


Best DVD/BD ReleaseTouchback

Best DVD/BD Special Edition ReleaseLittle Shop of Horrors: The Director’s Cut

Best DVD/BD Collection ReleaseUniversal Classic Monsters: The Essential Collection

Best DVD/BD Television Series ReleaseStar Trek: The Next Generation, Season 1 & 2


The Lifetime Achievement Award: William Friedkin

The Dan Curtis Legacy Award: Vince Gilligan

The Visionary Award: Richard Matheson

The Life Career Award: Jonathan Frakes

Theater Showcase AwardSilence! The Musical

(via Variety)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s