GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY Toys Are More Like Polly Pockets


Strolling through Target the other day, I happened to pass by the toy department…oh, who am I kidding? I always go the the toy section first. Anyway, I was very happy to see the toys for Guardians of the Galaxy had finally hit the pegs! Finally I could have a Star-Lord, Groot, and Rocket on my shelf next to Captain America, Thanos, and the gang. And wow, check it out! You get two figures for under $6! guardians ronan guardians star lord gamoraNotice how little detail there is? And the minimum articulation? There’s a reason for that. They are friggin’ tiny! Here’s a regular 4″ Captain America figure for comparison:

guardians size

That’s not forced perspective; those packages are right next to each other.

What the hell, Marvel? How did you approve this? I thought maybe they made them small so they would fit into spaceships or something , but I didn’t even see any vehicle playsets on the shelf or advertised on any of the other toy packages..Why would they not make the GotG figures in the same scale as the rest of the Marvel cinematic universe figures? It seems like they purposefully wanted these toy lines separated from each other as much as possible but to what end? Don’t they want kids (and grown ups like me) to associate GotG with the Avengers in the long run?

Can someone please explain this to me?

3 thoughts on “GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY Toys Are More Like Polly Pockets

Leave a comment